How does the National Joint Registry's work benefit me? How can I become a part of the NJR's Regional Support network? Who are the working groups the NJR works with? We aim to answer all your questions whether it be in person at a conference, in our Annual Report and weekly reports or here on out website

National Joint Registry Board
(NJR Board)

The National Joint Registry Board is designated as an NHS England ‘Committee of Experts’ and our Chair reports directly to the Medical Director for NHS England.

The Board has responsibility for setting our strategic direction through the development of the NJR’s Strategic Plan, alongside oversight for the successful delivery of our annual work plans and their associated budget.

The Board also oversees the supporting structure of our eight sub-committees, each responsible for a dedicated area of the NJR’s work and for ensuring the delivery of work plans and development activities against agreed objectives.

You can find out more below:
NJR Board key responsibilities here
Minutes of previous Board meetings here
NJR Committee structure here

Sir Paul talks here about the role of the NJR Board and our future work.

Chair &
Vice Chair

Professor Sir Paul Curran, National Joint Registry Steering Committee (NJRSC) Chair

Professor Sir Paul Curran

NJR Chair

Tim Wilton NJRSC

Mr Tim Wilton

NJR Medical Director
and Board Vice Chair

Chair, Medical Advisory Committee.


Peter Howard

Mr Peter Howard

Orthopaedic Surgeon

Chair, Surgical Performance and Implant Scrutiny Committees.

Mr Derek Pegg

Orthopaedic Surgeon

Chair, Data Quality and Regional Clinical Coordinators Committees.

Mike Reed NJRSC

Prof. Mike Reed

Orthopaedic Surgeon

Chair, Editorial Committee.

Mark Wilkinson

Prof. Mark Wilkinson

Public Health / Epidemiology

Chair, Research Committee.

Joshua Bridgens

Orthopaedic Implant
Manufacturer Representative

Karen Barker

Prof. Karen Barker OBE

Practitioner with special interest in orthopaedics

Hassan Achakri, Orthopaedic Implant 
Manufacturer Representative and Member of the NJR Steering Committee (NJRSC)

Dr Hassan Achakri

Orthopaedic Implant
Manufacturer Representative

Gillian Coward

Patient Representative

Robin Brittain

Robin Brittain

Patient Representative

Peter James

Independent Healthcare Sector Representative


Orthopaedic surgeon


Co-opted members

Tim Briggs

Prof. Tim Briggs CBE

Chair GIRFT Programme / National Director for Clinical Improvement and Elective Recovery NHSE

Becky Owen

Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency Representative

Robin Rice NJRSC

Robin Rice

Welsh Government Representative

Andy Smallwood

Andy Smallwood

NHS Procurement Representative

Mr Simon Hodkinson

President, British Orthopaedic Association

Scroll to Top